هل حقًا يمكنني إحداث فرق؟ الشعب اللبناني لديه الجواب

هل تؤدي الخطوات الصغيرة إلى تغيير كبير؟ هل فعلاً ما أفعله يحدث فرقًا؟ هذا ما يتساءله الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم مرات عدة في اليوم الواحد.

لدى الشعب اللبناني الجواب على هذه التساؤلات. ولبعض الناس بدأت التساؤلات في أجهزة الصراف الآلي في بهو إحدى البنوك في العاصمة بيروت، حيث توافد العملاء لسحب أموالهم من أجل شراء احتياجاتهم من طعام أو هدايا أو أشياء أخرى. لكن المشكلة كانت أن الحدّ الأقصى للسحب هو 4$ فقط. وقد تم توثيق ردّات فعل الناس والدهشة على وجوههم، من خلال كاميرات خفية زرعت في المصرف. فقال أحد العملاء: "هذا لا يمكن أن يكون صحيحا". وحاول مرة أخرى، ولكن لم يظهر على شاشة الصراف الآلي سوى 4$. حاولت الناس استخدام آلة أخرى، ولكن في كل مرة كان الحدّ الاقصى 4 دولارات فقط.

استدعى العملاء موظفي البنك للاستفسار عن الموضوع وكان الجواب أن الحدّ الأقصى للسحب اليومي هو 4$. فهل يمكنهم تلبية احتياجاتهم بهذا المبلغ؟ كلا. فكان لا بدّ من التفكير في أكثر من شخص واحد من بين أربعة أشخاص في لبنان ليس لديهم خيار سوى العيش على هذا المبلغ الضئيل - أو حتى أقل - يوميًا. فمعدل الفقر في البلاد مذهل بنسبة 30 في المائة.

أنتجت منظومة الأمم المتحدة العاملة في لبنان فيديو انتشر بكثافة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي مسجلاً حوالي 15000 مشاهدة في غضون ساعتين، وتم تغطيته في كافة وسائل الإعلام في لبنان.

وكان هذا الفيديو بمثابة ذروة #TakeAStep #لازم_تفرق_معك، وهي حملة أطلقتها منظومة الأمم المتحدة في لبنان المؤلفة من حوالي 26 وكالة ومنظمة وصندوق. تهدف الحملة، التي لا تزال مستمرة، إلى دعوة اللبنانيين على اتخاذ خطوات يمكنها المساعدة في إنهاء الفقر وتحقيق السلام وسائر أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

عدد قليل من الخطوات العديدة

وقالت عبير عبيد، وهي فتاة لبنانية شاركت في هذه الحملة: "لقد كانت هذه الحملة دعوة لليقظة. نحتاج إلى العمل الجماعي من أجل خير الناس". تعمل عبير جاهدة للمساعدة في التعليم. وأضافت: "بدأت في تعليم الأطفال في المناطق الريفية في لبنان كلما دعت الحاجة. ثم عملت على جمع الأموال وشراء الكتب وإنشاء مكتبة في قرية ريفية".

وكما يحدث مع العديد من الأشخاص الذين يبدأون بعمل صغير، أصبحت عبير ملتزمة أكثر مع مرور الوقت. وقالت: "لقد عملت على مساعدة الأطفال الأقل حظًا في الحصول على التعليم الجيد الذي يستحقونه. لقد طوّرت منهجًا يستهدف اللاجئين السوريين. كل طفل الحق في التعلم".

لقد علمت عبيد كما آلاف آخرين من الأشخاص عن الحملة عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ووسائل الإعلام التقليدية والقنوات الأخرى التي استخدمتها وكالات الأمم المتحدة. تم تشجيع الأشخاص في جميع أنحاء البلاد على استخدام #TakeAstep على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي عند نشر الخطوات التي اتخذوها أو التي سيلتزمون بها.

أما ملاك التركاوي، فلم تكن خطوتها الأولى ناجحة. ولكن بعد إجراء بعض الأبحاث السريعة على الإنترنت، أنشأت نموذجًا أوليًا لحقيبة قطنية قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام والتي كانت تأمل في تحويلها إلى علامة تجارية وبيعها. تعترف ملاك، وهي مواطنة سورية انتقلت للعيش في لبنان عام 2018 وتبلغ من العمر 19 عامًا، أن النموذج الأول للحقيبة كان قبيحًا.

لحسن الحظ، ليست ملاك من النوع الذي يستسلم بسهولة. وتقول: "أدركت أن أهم مرحلة في أي مشروع هي البحث". لذلك عادت إلى لوحة الرسم. وما دفعها إلى الاستمرار هو شغفها للحياة تحت الماء، وللحيوانات البحرية التي لا تعد ولا تحصى والتي تموت من التلوث البلاستيكي كل يوم. كانت تأمل أنه عندما يستخدم الناس الحقيبة القطنية القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام، فإن ذلك سيساعد على تجنيب بعض الحيوانات المصير الذي نراه غالبًا في الصور الإخبارية.

وبعد القيام بثمانية عشر نموذجاً أولياً، توصلت ملاك إلى ما أسمته "حقيبة بريو" أو “Brio Bag”، وبدأت بتسويقها. تقول ملاك إنها علمت أن "الطريقة الوحيدة للوصول هي السعي، وتطوير المهارات، والذهاب إلى العمل، وتعلم المزيد".

التعليم الجيد والحياة البحرية ليسوا سوى اثنين من القضايا التي عالجها المشاركون في حملة #TakeAStep. أفاد آخرون على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي عن عملهم في الصحة والجوع والفقر.

وقد وصل وسم #TakeAStep إلى ما يقارب 13.6 مليون شخص على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، وتفاعل حوالي 3 مليون شخص مع الحملة، وتابعها ما يقرب من 3000 شخص على الموقع الإلكتروني التابع للأمم المتحدة، كما وقام المئات بأخذ خطوات كان لها أثّر على آلاف الأشخاص.

هذه أعداد كبيرة في بلد يبلغ عدد سكانه 6 ملايين نسمة.

لذا، هل يهم حقًا إذا قمت بتعليم بعض اللاجئين؟ هل أن استخدام كيس قماش لأحمل البقالة سيساعدني في الواقع؟ أنا شخص واحد فقط، هل أنا حقًا أُحدث فرقًا؟ يجيب شعب لبنان: نعم، نعم، ونعم.

تقول مديرة مركز الأمم المتحدة للإعلام في بيروت ورئيسة مجموعة الأمم المتحدة للاتصالات في لبنان، مارغو الحلو: " يقول المثل: رحلة الألف ميل تبدأ بخطوة واحدة". لقد قطع شعب لبنان للتو الكثير من الخطوات في طريقه إلى تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة".

Can I really make a difference? The people of Lebanon have an answer

Do small actions add up to big change? Does what I do really make a difference? These are questions facing people over the world many times a day.

The people of Lebanon have an answer for you. For some of them, it started at an ATM in a bank lobby in Beirut, the capital city, in August 2019.

Customers came in to get cash for the day. They had to go shopping for food, buy a birthday present, or pay for whatever else is on their list.

Problem was, the maximum withdrawal was $4. Captured on hidden cameras in the bank lobby, people looked perplexed. “That can’t be right,” they thought. They tried again. Still $4. They tried another machine, and yet again the limit was $4.

One by one, customers called over a bank employee, who informed them that, yes, the withdrawal limit for the day was indeed $4. Could they manage on that amount just for today? No? Well, please think about the more than one in four people in Lebanon who have no choice but to live on that little—or less—per day. The poverty rate in the country is a staggering thirty per cent.  

A video of the episode produced by the UN in Lebanon went viral on social media, getting 15,000 views in two hours, eventually reaching a hundred times that many, and earning mentions in some of country’s top media outlets.

That was a provocative peak in #TakeAStep, an ongoing campaign of all 26 United Nations agencies, funds and programmes in Lebanon to mobilize the country to take action on ending poverty, achieving peace, and fulfilling the rest of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

A few of the many steps

“This campaign was a wake-up call that we need to work collectively for the good of the people,” says Abeer Obeid, a young Lebanese woman who took part. Abeer’s big cause is education. “I began reaching kids in rural areas of Lebanon whenever there was a need,” she reports. “Then I started raising funds and buying books and set up a library in a rural village.”

As happens with so many people who start with a small action, Abeer got more involved as time went on. “I worked on helping less fortunate children get the quality education they deserve. I developed a curriculum that targets Syrian refugees,” she says. “Every child has the right to learn.”

Obeid and many thousands of others heard about the campaign through social media, traditional media, and other channels that participating UN agencies used during the campaign. People nationwide were encouraged to tag #TakeAStep when posting on social media about action they’d taken or would commit to taking.

Malak Al-Terkawi’s first step was…not a great success. After doing some cursory research online, she created the prototype of a reusable cotton bag, which she hoped to turn into a brand and sell. “It was ugly,” admits Malak, a 19-year-old Syrian national who moved to Lebanon in 2018.

Fortunately, Malak is a not the kind to give up easily. “I realized that the most important phase in any project is research,” she says. So she went back to the drawing board. What drove her to continue was her passion for life under water, and the countless marine animals that die from plastic contamination every day. She hoped that when people used and reused her cotton bag for their errands, it would help spare some animals the fate we so often see in news images.

Eighteen prototypes later, and Malak finally had what she called a “Brio Bag,” which she started marketing. Looking back on her efforts, Malak says she learned that “The only way to finish is to get started, to develop your skills, get to work, and learn more.”

Education. Marine life. Those are just two of the issues that #TakeAStep participants addressed in their efforts.  Others reported on social media about their work in health, hunger, and poverty.

Over the course of the campaign so far, #TakeAStep recorded a total of 13.6 million impressions and people have engaged about 3 million times online. Close to 3,000 people joined the UN Lebanon on their website and hundreds took real-life action that touched many thousands of lives.

Those are big numbers in a country of 6 million people.

So, does it really matter if I teach some refugees? Will it actually help if I use a cloth bag to carry my groceries in? I’m just one person, do I really make a difference?

The people of Lebanon have answered: Yes, yes, and yes.

“The old proverb says, ‘A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step,’” says Margo Helou, director of the United Nations Information Centre in Beirut and chair of the UN Communications Group in Lebanon. “The people of Lebanon have logged a lot of steps on the way to the SDGs.”