إطلاق الدورة الرابعة من "مهرجان كرامة - بيروت لأفلام حقوق الإنسان" بالتعاون مع الأمم المتحدة وسفارتَي سويسرا وتشيكيا في لبنان

أطلقت اليوم الجمعيّة اللبنانيّة "معمل961-للفنون" النسخة الرابعة من "مهرجان كرامة - بيروت لأفلام حقوق الإنسان" تحت عنوان " تكلم معها "، وذلك خلال مؤتمر صحافي عُقد في متروبوليس أمبير صوفيل. يمتدّ المهرجان من 1 ولغاية 5 تموز/يوليو في متروبوليس أمبير صوفيل، ويُقام بالتعاون مع مركز الأمم المتحدة للإعلام في بيروت، وبدعم من مكتب المفوض السامي لحقوق الإنسان، المكتب الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، ومكتب مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لشؤون اللاجئين، وسفارَتَي سويسرا وتشيكيا في لبنان.

تخلّل المؤتمر كلمات لكلّ من السيد روبرت ترايبس من السفارة التشيكية في لبنان، ومدير المهرجان السيد هيثم شمص، ومديرة البرامج في المهرجان نجوى قندقجي التي قدّمت عرضاً مفصّلاً حول الأفلام التي ستُعرض على مدى خمسة أيام متتالية.

ترابيس

استهلّ ترابيس كلمته بالتذكير بأن الجمهوريّة التشيكية كانت ولا تزال تناصر حقوق الإنسان وتدعم مهرجان كرامة- بيروت لأفلام حقوق الإنسان. وسلّط في كلمته الضوء على مختلف التحديات التي تواجه المرأة، لا سيما القيود الهيكلية التي تتجلّى، ليس فقط في العنف الجنسي المُمارس ضد المرأة خلال الحروب، أو الإتجار بالأشخاص لأغراض الاستغلال الجنسي، أو قتل النساء، إنما أيضاً في الفجوة القائمة في الأجور بين الجنسين، وغيرها من أشكال اللامساواة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تجعل النساء أكثر عرضةً للفقر. وفي هذا السياق أعطى ترابيس مثالاً لتوضيح إحدى أشكال اللامساواة مشيراً إلى أنّ "النساء ينفقن على الرعاية غير المدفوعة الأجر وعلى العمل المنزلي 250٪ من الوقت أكثر من الرجال". وختم ترابيس كلمته بالتركيز على أهميّة مساهمة الرجال في النضال في سبيل صَون حقوق المرأة، لافتاً إلى أنّ "هذه المعركة لا تتعلق فقط بجنس واحد دون سواه، بل أنّ التحالف بين الرجال والنساء كفيلٌ بتحقيق المساواة المرجوّة"، ثم تمنّى للمهرجان كل النجاح والتوفيق.

شمص

في كلمته، ركّز شمص على مبدأ المساواة بين الجنسين كحقّ أساسي من حقوق الإنسان وكأساس جوهري لإرساء السلام وضمان الازدهار المستدام. ولفت في كلمته إلى أهمية النظر إلى الجندرة من وجهة نظر حداثية نظراً لكون "الأداء القائم على المساواة الجندرية" يسعى إلى تحقيق حياة معاصرة ترتبط بشكل ملحوظ بالإنتاج والإنجاز والابتكار. وبالإشارة إلى التمييز القائم بين الرجال والنساء والعنف المُمارس ضدّهنّ في مناطق كثيرة من العالم، عقّب شمص على ذلك بالقول: "نحن أمام مشكلة إجتماعية، جديرة بأن تُعالج وتُرصد وتُكتشف وتُعرض، من خلال لغة الفن السينمائي، كأداة تعبير مؤثرة". وفي إطار هذا الحدث، نوّه شمص بالأهمية التي يضطلع بها هذا المهرجان لجهة "التشارك في هذه المسؤولية الحقوقية" من خلال إنتاج وعرض أفلام تروي واقع النساء وقضاياهنّ في مجتمعات وثقافات مختلفة، سعياً إلى "ترسيخ خطاب حضاري إرتقائي يربط المصلحة الفردية بالمصلحة العامة" ويحثّ على "توسيع التفاعل والحوار فيما بيننا كأفراد متساويين."

قندقجي

من ناحيتها، عرضت قندقجي برنامج المهرجان (مُرفق ربطاً) الذي سيتضمّن 24 فيلمًا من لبنان والعالم العربي وأوروبا وأميركا وآسيا، بينها 7 أفلام وثائقية طويلة و4 أفلام وثائقية قصيرة و3 أفلام روائية طويلة، و4 أفلام روائية قصيرة، بالإضافة إلى 6 أفلام تحريكية. ومن المزمع أن يتبع عرض هذه الأفلام حلقات نقاش مفتوحة من الأسئلة والأجوبة حول كل فيلم معروض. كما سيتخلل برنامج المهرجان ندوة رئيسية تتناول قانون الأحوال الشخصية وآثاره السلبية على المرأة في لبنان.

ضيوف مهرجان 2019 

يتميّز المهرجان كل عام بحضور ضيوف مميّزين في مجالات الفنّ والإخراج من لبنان والعالم العربي. نذكر أدناه أبرز ضيوف النسخة الرابعة:

  • أنس طلبة: مخرج فيلم "بين البحرين"- مصر
  • تمارا أبو لبن: مخرجة فيلم "جدران الدهيشة" – فلسطين
  • سليم صعب: مخرج فيلم "قوية"- لبنان/فرنسا
  • سورين كلوفبورك: مخرج فيلم "خادمة في الجحيم"- دنمارك
  • فواز طرابلسي "ساعة التحرير دقت"
  • الليث حجو: مخرج فيلم "الحبل السري" – سوريا
  • سيف الشيخ نجيب: مخرج فيلم "خيمة 56" – سوريا
  • محمود بن محمود: مخرج فيلم "فتوى"- تونس
  • ديمة نشاوي: مخرجة فيلم  "سرّ حبّات المطر"- سوريا
  • جيري زايكموند: مخرج فيلم "لا تتوقف أبداً"- التشيك
  • أندرياس وولف: مخرج فيلم "الشاعرة"- ألمانيا
  • ريزا فارهماند: مخرجة فيلم "نساء بأقراط البارود"- إيران
  • مايا منيّر: مخرجة فيلم "بيت النهرين"- سوريا
  • إنكا آشتي: مخرجة فيلم "الأولاد الذين يحبون الفتيات"- فنلندة
  • سؤدد كعدان: مخرجة فيلم "يوم فقدت ظلي"- سوريا
  • لمى طيارة: صحفية- سوريا
  • سوسن دروزة: مديرة مهرجان كرامة لأفلام حقوق الإنسان- الأردن
  • إيهاب خطيب: المدير الفني لمهرجان كرامة لأفلام حقوق الإنسان- الأردن

يُذكر أن "مهرجان كرامة - بيروت لأفلام حقوق الإنسان" يُساهم، على غرار مهرجانات أفلام حقوق الإنسان المعروفة عالمياً، في تسليط الضوء على أفلام السينما الرافضة للعنصريّة، ولخطاب الكراهية، والتمييز، والظلم. حملت الدورة الأولى من المهرجان في العام 2016 عنوان "الآخرون" وهدفت إلى زيادة الوعي حول حقوق اللاجئين والأقليّات في لبنان والعالم العربي، بينما اتّخذت الدورة الثانية في العام 2017 عنوان "الهُويّات الجديدة" حيث ركّزت على صراع الهويات الجديدة. أما الدورة الثالثة في العام 2018 فكانت تحت عنوان "حرّروا الكلمة" بهدف مساندة التعبير الحرّ والمتحرّر من النماذج الرسميّة السائدة.

أما الدورة الرابعة من المهرجان فتندرج في إطار الهدف الخامس من أهداف التنمية المستدامة، وهو تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين. فالمساواة ليست حقًا أساسيًا من حقوق الإنسان فحسب، بل إنها أساس ضروري لعالم يسوده السلام والازدهار والاستدامة.

Launch of "Karama-Beirut Human Rights Film Festival" – 4th Edition In cooperation with the UN and Embassies of Switzerland and Czech Republic

 The Lebanese NGO “Art Factory 961” launched today the fourth edition of "Karama Beirut Human Rights Film Festival" under the theme “Talk to Her,” at a press conference held at Metropolis, Empire Sofil. The festival, held in cooperation with the United Nations Information Centre in Beirut (UNIC Beirut), and with the support of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, the regional office for the Middle East and North Africa (OHCHR-MENA), the office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the embassies of Switzerland and the Czech Republic in Lebanon, runs from 1 to 5 July at Metropolis, Empire Sofil.

The conference featured statements by Mr. Robert Tripes, Minister-Counsellor at the Embassy of the Czech Republic to Lebanon, and festival director Haytham Chamass. The festival’s program manager Najwa Kondakji presented the films that will be screened throughout the five-day Festival period.

Tripes

In his speech, Tripes recalled that the Czech Republic has always been a strong advocate for human rights, and a supporter to the Karama Beirut Human Rights Film Festival. He highlighted the different types of disadvantages facing women, particularly the so-called ‘system restrictions” that are manifested, not only in wartime sexual violence, sex trafficking and femicide, but also in gender pay gaps, and other forms of socio-economic equalities that leave women at high risk of poverty. “Women spend on unpaid care and domestic work 250% more time than men,” Tripes noted as an example to highlight the problem of gender inequality. Tripes concluded by insisting that men should be part of the struggle for the achievement of women rights. “This is not just a fight for one gender. We can only get things done if there is an alliance between men and women on this,” he hammered before wishing the Festival “every success.”

Chamass

In his speech, Chamass highlighted the principle of gender equality as a fundamental human right and as an essential foundation for peace and sustainable prosperity. He pointed out the importance of looking at gender from a modernist point of view, since achieving gender equality helps build a contemporary life that guarantees efficient production, positive achievement and innovation. Referring to discrimination between women and men in many parts of the world, Chamass said: “We have a social problem that is worth being addressed, monitored, examined and presented through cinematic arts as an effective tool of expression.” He also noted the importance of this Festival in “sharing human responsibility” through the production and presentation of films that tell the reality of women in different societies and cultures, aiming to “establish a civilized discourse that links individual and public interests,” and call for “expanding interaction and dialogue among us as equal individuals.”

Kondakji

For her part, Kondakji presented the festival programme (attached), which includes 24 films from Lebanon, the Arab World, Europe, America, and Asia, including seven long documentaries, four short documentaries, three long features, four short feature films and six animation films, followed by Q&A sessions. The festival programme also features a major panel discussion addressing the law of personal status and its negative effects on women in Lebanon.

2019 Festival Guests

Each year the festival hosts a number of distinguished guests from Lebanon and the Arab world in the fields of art and direction. The following are some of the guests of the fourth edition:

  • Anas Tolba: Director of “Between Two Seas”- Egypt
  • Tamara Abu Laban: Director of “The Walls of Dheisheh” – Palestine
  • Salim Saab: Director of “Strong”-Lebanon/France
  • Søren Klovborg : Director of “Maid in Hell”- Denmark
  • Fawaz Traboulsi: Producer of “The Hour of Liberation”- UK/ Lebanon/ France
  • Allaith Hajjo: Director of “The Cord”- Syria
  • Seif Shekh Najib: Director of “Tent 56”- Syria
  • Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud: Director of “Fatwa” – Tunisia
  • Dima Nachawi: Director of “The Secret of Raindrops” - Syria
  • Jiri Zykmund: Director of “Never Stop”- Czech
  • Andreas Wolff: Director of “The Potess”-Germany
  • Reza Farahmand: Director of “Women with Gunpowder Earrings”- Iran
  • Maya Mounayer: Director of “Home of The Rivers”- Syria
  • Inka Achté: Director of “Boys Who Like Girls”- Finland
  • Souudade Kaadan: Director of “The Day I Lost My Shadow”-Syria
  • Lama Tayara: Journalist- Syria
  • Sawsan Darwaza: Festival Director of Karama Human Rights Film Festival – Jordan
  • Ehab Khatib: Artistic Director of Karama Human Rights Film Festival -Jordan

Karama Beirut Human Rights Film Festival (KBHRFF) is a film event that contributes, among other well-established and renowned human rights film festivals in the world, to spreading a cinema that denounces racism, hate discourse, discrimination and injustice. The 1st edition of KBHRFF was held in 2016 under the theme “The Others,” and aimed to raise awareness on the rights of refugees and minorities in Lebanon and the Arab World, while the 2nd edition in 2017 addressed the theme “New Identities” and focused on new identities conflict. The 3rd edition in 2018 aimed to support freedom of expression.

The current fourth edition falls under the framework of the Sustainable Development Goal 5: Gender Equality. Equality between women and men is not only a fundamental human right but a necessary foundation for a world of peace, prosperity and sustainability.