اليوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني: نساء بالخدمة على الخطوط الأمامية - بقلم فيليب لازاريني (المنسق المقيم لأنشطة الأمم المتحدة ومنسّق الشؤون الإنسانية في لبنان)

لمناسبة اليوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني الذي يحتفى به اليوم، نعرب عن تقديرنا لملايين النساء في الأزمات حول العالم. إن شعار هذا العام: المرأة في العمل الإنساني #WomenHumanitarians يستذكر النساء العاملات في طواقم الإغاثة الإنسانية اللواتي يعملن كل يوم على مساعدة المحتاجين، إضافة إلى النساء المتضررات من الأزمات والنزوح والفقر والتمييز اللواتي غالباً ما يكنّ أول من يستجيب للأزمة في مجتمعاتهن - من عرسال إلى أفغانستان. من خلال عملها في الخطوط الأمامية للأزمة، تدير المرأة المدارس والعيادات، وتؤمن الوساطة للوصول إلى المساعدات والخدمات، وتدعو إلى استجابة أكثر فعالية، كما وتلعب دوراً حاسماً في حلّ النزاعات وبناء السلام.

يأتي شعار هذا العام ملائماً مع الوضع الراهن في لبنان، حيث لا تزال المرأة تعاني من التمييز بين الجنسين على نطاق واسع، بما في ذلك التهميش السياسي والاجتماعي والاقتصادي. كما وتعاني العديد من النساء في لبنان من انعدام الأمن الاقتصادي والعزلة الاجتماعية والاستغلال نتيجة لعدم المساواة بين الجنسين. والمؤسف أن العنف المنزلي لا يزال منتشراً على نطاق واسع، حيث أن أكثر من 30 في المائة من النساء اللبنانيات المتزوجات أبلغن عن تعرضهن مرّة على الأقل لشكل من أشكال العنف من قبل الشريك.  

الحقيقة المدوية هي أن الأطر القانونية مستمرة بعرقلة حقوق المرأة، من حق الوصول إلى الممتلكات والميراث إلى قضايا بسيطة مثل حق الوصول إلى الوثائق القانونية وحق إعطاء جنسيتها إلى أولادها. وانعكاساً لهذا الواقع، احتل لبنان المرتبة 140 من بين 149 في التقرير العالمي للفجوة بين الجنسين لعام 2018 الصادر عن المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي.

مع ذلك، لا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أنه تم إحراز تقدم بفضل الجهود الدؤوبة للنشطاء اللبنانيين. وعلى الرغم من اعتبار هذه الخطوة متواضعة، إلاّ أن مجلس الوزراء اللبناني لديه الآن أكبر عدد من النساء في تاريخه، بما في ذلك أول وزيرة داخلية في العالم العربي. تعدّ إلغاء المادة 522 من قانون العقوبات في عام 2017 - والتي بموجبها يُعفى المغتصب من العقوبة إذا تزوج من ضحيته - خطوة رئيسية في الاتجاه الصحيح، على أمل أن يتبعها تعديل قوانين أخرى ترسّخ التمييز بين الجنسين، مثل قانون 2014 المهم جداً لكن غير المكتمل.

أنا متفائل بالتزام البرلمان تناول مجموعة شاملة من القوانين المتعلقة بحقوق المرأة في آذار/مارس 2020، بما في ذلك اقتراحات منع زواج الأطفال وتعديل قانون 293 عن العنف الأسري من بين أمور أخرى مهمة أيضاً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بمجرد اعتماد مجلس الوزراء لخطة العمل الوطنية للبنان بشأن القرار 1325، ستكون هناك خريطة طريق قيّمة لتحقيق قضايا المرأة والسلام والأمن في البلاد.

وفي الوقت الذي لا ينبغي فيه التقليل من أهمية هذه الإصلاحات التشريعية والسياسية، إلا أن هناك حاجة إلى عمل حاسم إضافي للتصدي لاستمرار العنف ضد المرأة، وتعزيز مشاركة المرأة في الاقتصاد والحياة السياسية - وهي مجالات يعيق تقدمها تصور مشترك مفاده أن المرأة ثانوية للرجل.

يمكن للحقيقة أن تكون أكثر فاضحة عندما يتعلق الأمر باللاجئات، حيث تشير التقارير إلى تزايد العنف الأسري داخل مجتمعات اللاجئين، كما وتعتبر الأسر السورية التي تكون فيها المرأة ربّة المنزل الأكثر عرضة لانعدام الأمن الغذائي. وفي الوقت عينه، تتعرض الفتيات السوريات على نحو متزايد لزواج الأطفال وهذه آلية تعامل سلبية تؤثر للأسف على واحدة من كل ثلاث فتيات.

إن التغييرات التشريعية التي ندعو إليها ونؤيدها، لها تأثير محدود في معالجة التمييز بين الجنسين داخل مجتمعات اللاجئين. نحن بحاجة إلى زيادة عدد النساء في الخط الأمامي للاستجابة للأزمة من أجل تعزيز المساواة وحماية اللاجئات. تظهر البيانات العالمية أنه عندما تعمل النساء على تقديم الخدمات في الخطوط الأمامية، تزداد ثقة المجتمعات، ويتم الوصول بشكل أفضل إلى النساء المتضررات بحيث يكنّ أكثر استعدادًا لعرض قضاياهن على الطاولة.

لكي نعترف أن المرأة هي عامل استجابة أكثر فعالية، نحتاج إلى تعزيز وتيسير دورها في خط المواجهة في برامجنا المتعلقة بالحماية والمساعدة. لقد التقيت في السنوات القليلة الماضية، في لبنان، عدداً من النساء الرائدات والملهمات داخل المجتمعات الفقيرة ومستوطنات اللاجئين والمحاكم القانونية، واللواتي يعملن جاهدات كل يوم على تقديم المعونة ومساندة الناجين من العنف والمناديات بالمساواة بين الجنسين إلى جانب كونهن المبادرات في بثّ روح التفاؤل.  

فيما نحتفل اليوم بالمرأة في العمل الإنساني، أدعو الجميع إلى التفكير في المساهمة القيّمة التي تقوم بها النساء لبناء مجتمعات أفضل وأقوى وأكثر تماسكاً من حيث الاستجابة الإنسانية والاجتماعية. علينا أن نستمر في تحدي أنفسنا والتشكيك في التحيزات المبنية على النوع الاجتماعي التي نستخدمها في صنع السياسات وتقديم الخدمات. يمكننا أن نأمل في مجتمع أكثر تساوياً فقط عندما نعترف بهذه التحيزات ونعالجها.  

شاركونا في الاحتفال بمناسبة اليوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني اليوم 19 آب/أغسطس عند الساعة 6 مساءً في آنتورك (Antwork) الحمرا. يتخلل الاحتفال معرض لصور نساء فاعلات في العمل الاإنساني في لبنان الذي يمتد حتى يوم الخميس 22 آب/أغسطس من الساعة 9 صباحاً وحتى الساعة 6 مساءً. الدعوة عامة والدخول مجّاني.   

فيليب لازاريني

المنسق المقيم للأمم المتحدة ومنسق الشؤون الإنسانية في لبنان

تابعوا فيليب لازاريني على تويتر: @UNLazzarini

Philippe Lazzarini photo

Date

World Humanitarian Day: Women serving at the front line - By Philippe Lazzarini (UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator for Lebanon)

Today, on World Humanitarian Day, we pay tribute to the millions of women in crises worldwide. The 2019 theme, #WomenHumanitarians, celebrates female aid workers who persist every day to help people in need; and the women affected by conflict, displacement, poverty and discrimination who are often the first to respond to crisis in their own communities - from Arsal to Afghanistan. Serving on the front lines of crisis, women run schools and clinics, broker access, advocate for more effective responses and play a critical role in conflict resolution and peace building.

This year’s theme is also timely for Lebanon, where women still suffer from widespread gender discrimination as well as political and socio-economic marginalization. Many women across Lebanon experience economic insecurity, social isolation and exploitation as a result of gender inequality. Domestic violence is also sadly widespread, with more than 30 percent of married Lebanese women reporting that they have experienced at least one form of intimate partner violence.

The stark reality is that Lebanon’s legal frameworks continue to hinder women’s equal rights, from access to property and inheritance to simple issues such as access to legal documents and passing their nationality to their own children. As a reflection of this, Lebanon ranked 140th out of 149 in the World Economic Forum’s 2018 Global Gender Gap report.

Progress is however being made, in great part thanks to the tireless efforts of Lebanese activists and advocates. Though modest, Lebanon’s Cabinet now has the highest number of women in its history, including the first female interior minister in the Arab world. The repeal of Article 522 of the penal code in 2017 - under which a rapist could be exempt from punishment if he married his victim - is a major step in the right direction, hopefully leading the way to amending other laws governing issues of gender-based violence - including the important but incomplete 2014 law on domestic violence.

I am also encouraged by Parliament’s commitment to take up a comprehensive package of women’s rights-related laws in March 2020 - including proposals to ban child marriage and amend Law 293 on domestic violence, among other important areas. In addition, once the Cabinet has endorsed Lebanon’s National Action Plan on Resolution 1325, there will be an invaluable road map for realizing issues of women’s rights, peace and security in the country.

While the importance of such legislative and political reforms should not be underestimated, additional critical work is needed to address continued violence against women and to promote women’s engagement in the economy and in political life - areas in which progress is stymied by a common perception that women are secondary to men.

When it comes to female refugees, reality can be even starker. Reports indicate increasing domestic violence within refugee communities, and Syrian female-headed households continue to be the most vulnerable to food insecurity. Meanwhile Syrian refugee girls are increasingly subject to child marriage, a negative coping mechanism sadly affecting nearly one in three girls.

The legislative changes that we are calling for and championing have a limited impact in addressing gender discrimination within refugee communities. To bolster equality and the protection of female refugees, we need to increase the number of women at the front line of the response. Global data shows that when women serve in front-line service delivery, communities’ trust increases, and women are better reached and more willing to bring their issues to the table.

In recognizing that women are the agents of a more effective response, we need to promote and facilitate their role at the front line of our assistance and protection programs. In Lebanon, I have met over the last few years a number of extraordinarily inspiring female community champions, across impoverished neighborhoods, refugee settlements and courts of law. They work relentlessly every day to provide aid, support survivors of violence and advocate for equality; and above all, they encourage willful optimism.

Today, as we celebrate “Women Humanitarians,” I call on all of us to reflect on the important contribution women are making to building a better, stronger and more cohesive humanitarian and social response - in their communities and beyond. We must continue to challenge ourselves and to question the in-built gender biases that we bring to policymaking and service delivery. Only once these biases are recognized and addressed, can we hope for a more equal society.

Join the UN Lebanon for the World Humanitarian Day Event on Aug. 19 at 6 p.m. at Antwork (Hamra), and for the photo exhibition at Antwork from Aug. 20-22, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. - open to the public, free admission.

Philippe Lazzarini
UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator for Lebanon
Follow Philippe Lazzarini on twitter: @UNLazzarini

Philippe Lazzarini photo

Date