الأمم المتحدة والهيئة الوطنيّة لشؤون المرأة اللبنانيّة تُطلقان حملة الـ16 يوماً لمناهضة العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي

الإثنين 25 تشرين الثاني 2019 - (الأمم المتحدة والهيئة الوطنيّة لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية)- تنطلق اليوم حملة 16 يوماً العالمية لإنهاء العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي (25 تشرين الثاني -10 كانون الأول). في هذه المناسبة، تتضافر جهود منظومة الأمم المتحدة في لبنان والهيئة الوطنيّة لشؤون المرأة اللبنانيّة، للسنة الثانية على التوالي، للدعوة إلى إنهاء العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي في لبنان ومنعه.

تركّز حملة 2019 على تحدّيات يواجهنها الناجيات من العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي وتقدم لهنّ إرشادات عمليّة - كمثل الإرشادات القانونيّة وأرقام الخطوط الساخنة إلى خدمات الوقاية/الإستجابة - إلى جانب تشجيع النساء والشباب على إحداث تغيير عبر إعلاء الصوت حول قضايا العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي.

ستسلّط الحملة الضوء على مسارات وخدمات في وسع النساء والفتيات في لبنان اللواتي يتعرضّن للعنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي اللجوء إليها وعلى العقبات التي يَجِدنَها أمامهن عند مواجهة العنف، ومن ضمنها القوانين والممارسات التمييزيّة.

وأكّدت رئيسة الهيئة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية السيدة كلودين عون روكز ان الحملة العالميّة "16 يوماً لمناهضة العنف ضدّ النساء والفتيات" التي تنطلق في لبنان في خضمّ الموجة التغييريّة التي تتناول الممارسات السياسية، تساهم في رفع مستوى الإدراك لضرورة معالجة نقاط الضعف في المنظومة التشريعية المعمول بها في قضايا المرأة بهدف إزالة جميع أشكال التمييز ضدّها. ذلك علما ان الهيئة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية اعدت عددا من النصوص بغية اعتماد قوانين جديدة او تعديل عدد من الاحكام التشريعية التي من شأنها الحد من ظاهرة العنف ضد النساء و الفتيات. ومن هذه النصوص مشاريع قوانين ترمي الى الحؤول دون تزويج الاطفال ومنع التحرش الجنسي والافلات من العقاب عند مجامعة قاصرة، والى رفع مستوى حماية الضحية في حالات العنف الاسري. كذلك ذكَرت السيدة عون روكز بان امال كبيرة باتت معقودة على مباشرة تطبيق خطة العمل الوطنية للقرار 1325 لمجلس الامن حول المرأة و السلام و الامن التي اشرفت الهيئة على اعدادها والتي تتضمن محورا خاصا بحماية النساء من العنف. كما لفتت السيدة عون روكز الى ان الهيئة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية هي في صدد العمل على متابعة تطبيق الاستراتيجية الوطنية لمناهضة العنف ضد النساء.

وقال المنسّق الخاص للأمم المتحدة في لبنان يان كوبيش، "إن حملة 16 يوماً هي فرصة لإنهاء الصمت بشأن العنف والتحرّش وجميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة. ينبغي للنساء عدم الخجل من إعلاء الصوت دفاعاً عن حقوقهن ويجب ألاّ يتفادى المجتمع دعمهن. إن التمكين هو الطريق إلى تحقيق ذلك. إن منح المرأة حقوقها الكاملة والمتساوية في المجتمع وتمكينها من المشاركة في عمليات صنع القرار لن يعزّز البلد ومؤسساته فحسب، بل المجتمع برمته. النساء هنّ المناصرات الأقوى لحقوقهنّ وقد رأيناهنّ يأخذن زمام المبادرة في انتفاضة وطنيّة، ويشدّدن على حقوقهن ويطالبن بمستقبل أفضل لبلدهنّ. ينبغي لشجاعتهنّ وتصميمهنّ أن يصيرا مثالاً للجميع وأن يؤدّيا إلى تغييرات ملموسة، بما في ذلك زيادة المشاركة في السياسة وفي المؤسسات العامة، وإقرار قانون وطني للأحوال الشخصيّة، وتوفير حماية أكبر ضد العنف والإستغلال".

تنطلق الحملة وعنوانها "العنف مرفوض، الحماية حقِّك" في 25 تشرين الثاني وإلى 10 كانون الأول على وسائل التواصل الإجتماعي عبر الوسم# العنف_مرفوض_الحماية_حقِّك وتتحدّى المقاربة الراهنة المُتعلّقة بالنساء والفتيات الناجيات من العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي. تهدف الحملة إلى ملاقاة الصدى لدى الجمهور على أوسع نطاق وتحثّ الجميع على دعم النساء والفتيات المعرّضات للعنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي أو الناجيات منه.

وقال منسّق الأمم المتحدة المقيم ومنسق الشؤون الإنسانية في لبنان السيد فيليب لازاريني: "لكل امرأة الحق في أن تكون حياتها خالية من كل أشكال العنف والتمييز. ورغم ذلك، تواجه أكثر من سيدة من بين كل ثلاث نساء حول العالم أنواعاً مختلفة من العنف الجسدي والجنسي، والنساء اللبنانيات لَسن استثناءً. على رغم الخطوات الكبيرة في تجريم العنف الأسري في لبنان، ما زلنا نسمع عن حالات عنف شنيعة إرتكبت ضد النساء، تستخدم غالباً لتخويفهن وممارسة الهيمنة عليهن وردعهنّ عن الحضور في الحياة الإجتماعية والإقتصادية والسياسية". أضاف السيد لازاريني "إن استمرار العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي يعرّض للخطر هدفنا المشترك المتمثّل في تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتشكيل "المستقبل الذي نريده"، وهو مستقبل لا يضمن تمكين المرأة فحسب، وإنما استقرار المجتمع بأسره وازدهاره أيضاً. أثبتَت التطورات الأخيرة في لبنان أكثر من أي وقت مضى دور المرأة القيادي في التأثير في التغيير التحويلي الذي يجب أن نستفيد منه".  

في لبنان، ووفق "صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان"، "أفاد شخص واحد من بين إثنين، كمعدل وسطي، انه يعرف شخصياً أحدهم تعرّض للعنف المنزلي، وقد إرتكب أفراد الأسرة 65٪ من الحوادث المبلّغ عنها وجرت 71٪ من هذه الحوادث في منزل الجاني".

يشار إلى أن أول معهد للقيادات النسائية العالمية أطلق حملة الـ16 يوماً الدوليّة لمناهضة العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي، في 1991، وترفع هذه الحملة الوعي وتزيد الزخم لإنهاء العنف ضد النساء والفتيات في العالم. يدعم الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، عبر مبادرته "إتحدوا لإنهاء العنف ضد المرأة"، حملة الـ16 يوماً في إطار موضوع 2019 "العالم البرتقالي:"جيل المساواة يقف ضد الاغتصاب الذي سيستمر عامين ويركّز على الإغتصاب كشكل محدّد من العنف ضد النساء والفتيات، في زمن السلم والحرب.

__________________________________________________________________________

 

تضمّ منظومة الأمم المتحدة في لبنان 23 وكالة وصناديق وبرامج بالإضافة إلى بعثة لحفظ السلام، وبعثة سياسية، ولجنة إقليمية، وتغطي مجموعة واسعة من عمليات حفظ السلام، كما العمل في المجالات السياسية، والتنموية، وحقوق الإنسان والعمل الإنساني في لبنان. تدعم الأمم المتحدة لبنان في تعزيز أولويات البلد الطويلة الأمد في مجالات السلام والأمن، والتنمية، وحقوق الإنسان.

الهيئة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية، هي مؤسسة رسمية أنشئت بموجب القانون لدى رئاسة مجلس الوزراء في العام 1998، بهدف تعزيز أوضاع المرأة وتأمين فرص متكافئة بينها وبين الرجل. تتألف جمعيتها العامة من شخصيات مشهود لهم بنشاطهم المتصل بشؤون المرأة وترأسها السيدة التي ينتدبها رئيس الجمهورية.

تقوم الهيئة بمهام استشارية لدى رئاسة الحكومة والإدارات والمؤسسات العامة كما بمهام ارتباطية وتنسيقية مع مختلف الإدارات والمؤسسات والهيئات العامة والأهلية والمدنية والمنظمات العربية والدولية. وتقوم الهيئة أيضاً بمهام تنفيذية متعدّدة منها رسم الاستراتيجيات والخطط.

 

لمزيد من المعلومات، يمكن التواصل مع:

رلى راشد، هيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة، 70351088

ميشلين الياس مسعد، الهيئة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية، 03452570

The United Nations and the National Commission for Lebanese Women Launch a 16-Day Campaign Against Gender-based violence

Monday, 25 November 2019 (United Nations, NCLW) - Today begins the global 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence (GBV) (25 November-10 December). On this occasion, the United Nations System in Lebanon and the National Commission for Lebanese Women (NCLW) are joining forces, for the second year in a row, to end and prevent gender-based violence in Lebanon. 

This year’s campaign examines the challenges that survivors of GBV face and offers them practical guidance - legal, hotlines and prevention/response services - while encouraging women and youth to make a difference by speaking up on issues of gender-based violence.

The campaign highlights the pathways and services provided to women and girls in Lebanon who experience GBV and draws attention to the obstacles they encounter, when faced with violence, including discriminatory laws and practices.   

Mrs. Claudine Aoun Roukoz, President of the National Commission for Lebanese Women stressed that the Global 16 days Campaign to end Violence against Women and Girls, launched in Lebanon amid a wave of change related to political practices, contributes to raising awareness on the need to address weaknesses in the existing legislative system related to women in order to eliminate all forms of discrimination against them. The NCLW prepared several texts aiming at adopting new laws or amending legislative provisions that would reduce the isssue of violence against women and girls. These texts include draft laws aimed at preventing child marriage and sexual harassment and impunity for sexual intercourse with a a minor, and raising the level of protection for victims in cases of domestic violence. Aoun Roukoz also said that there are high hopes on starting the implementation of the National Action Plan on UN Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security, which preperation was supervised by the Commission, and which includes a special chapter on protecting women from violence. Aoun Roukoz added that the NCLW is following up the implementation of the national strategy to combat violence against women.

“The 16 Days of Activism are an opportunity to end the silence on violence, harassment and all forms of discrimination against women. Women should not be ashamed to speak up to defend their rights and society should not shy away from supporting them,” said UN Special Coordinator for Lebanon Jan Kubis. “The key is empowerment. Giving women their full and equal rights in society and enabling them to participate in decision-making processes will not only strengthen the country and its institutions, but society as a whole. Women are their own most powerful advocates as we saw them taking the lead in a national uprising, insisting on their rights and demanding a better future for their country. Their courage and determination should serve as an example for all and result in concrete changes, including greater participation in politics and public institutions, a national personal status law and greater protections against violence and abuse,” Mr. Kubis added.

Entitled We Reject Violence, Protection is Your Right  (العنف مرفوض، الحماية حقِك)the campaign (25 November- 10 December) will run on social media with the #WeRejectViolence #ProtectionIsYourRight hashtags to challenge the current perception regarding women and girls survivors of GBV. Meant to resonate with the broadest audiences, it encourages everyone to act in support of women and girls who are at risk or survivors of GBV.

Every woman has the right to live a life free of any form of violence and discrimination,” said Mr. Philippe Lazzarini, UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator for Lebanon. “Yet, more than 1 in 3 women around the world are facing different sorts of physical and sexual violence, and Lebanese women are no exception. Despite considerable strides in criminalizing domestic violence in Lebanon, we still hear of outrageous cases of violence perpetrated against women, often used to intimidate them, exercise dominance over them and deter their presence in the social, economic and political life,” Mr. Lazzarini added. “The persistence of gender-based violence jeopardizes our common goal of achieving gender equality and shaping ‘The Future We Want,’ a future that does not only ensure women empowerment but also the stability and prosperity of the entire society. The recent developments in Lebanon proved more than ever the leadership role of women in influencing transformational change, which we should capitalize on,” he concluded.

According to the United Nations Population Fund, “An average of 1 in 2 persons reported personally knowing someone subjected to domestic violence, 65% of reported incidents were committed by family members and 71% occurred in the perpetrator’s household”,  in Lebanon.

The international campaign 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence originated from the 1991 first Women's Global Leadership Institute and raises awareness and increases momentum toward ending violence against women and girls worldwide. The United Nations Secretary General, through the UNiTE to End Violence against Women Campaign, supports the 16 Days of Activism under 2019’s theme “Orange the World: Generation Equality Stands Against Rape!” that will run for two years and focus on rape as a specific form of violence against women and girls, during peace and war.

______________________________________________

The United Nations system in Lebanon comprises 23 agencies, funds and programmes as well as a peacekeeping mission, a political mission and a regional commission that cover a broad spectrum of peacekeeping, political, development, human rights and humanitarian work in Lebanon. The United Nations supports Lebanon to promote the country’s long-term peace and security, development and human rights priorities.

The National Commission for Lebanese women (NCLW) is an official institution established by law at the Presidency of the Council of Ministers in 1998 with the aim of promoting the status of women and ensuring equal opportunities for women and men.  Its General Assembly is composed of personalities who are known for their activities related to women's affairs and is chaired by the woman delegated by the President of the Republic.

The Commission carries out advisory functions at the Presidency of the Government and public administrations and institutions, as well as liaison and coordination functions with various administrations, institutions, public, community and civic organizations and Arab and international organizations. The Commission also performs various operational functions, including the formulation of strategies and plans.

 

Media Contacts:

For more information:

Roula Rached, UN Women, phone number: 70351088

Micheline Elias Massaad, NCLW, phone number: 03 452570