تغيير حقيقي ناتج عن آلية استعراض تنفيذ اتفاقية مكافحة الفساد

 

أبو ظبي- الخميس 19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019 (مركز الأمم المتحدة للإعلام) – بعد ما يناهز العشر سنوات من العمل، قامت آلية استعراض تنفيذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد بجمع نتائج تحليل عالمي وشامل حول التحديات التي تواجهها البلدان والمناطق. توفر المراجعات نقطة انطلاق تقنية غير عدائية وغير مسيّسة للمناقشات مع الدول والتي ظهر تأثيرها الإيجابي في دفع عملية تنفيذ الاتفاقية إلى الأمام.

أما أحد عناصر نجاح هذه الآلية فهو استعداد الدول لتبادل خبراتها والتعلم من بعضها البعض. منذ بدايتها في عام 2010، تم استحداث 198 ملخصًا تنفيذيًا والقيام بـ 237 زيارة رسمية واجتماعات مشتركة.

وخلال عملية الاستعراض، تم تحديد ما يقرُب 7000 تحد إلى جانب أكثر من 1000 مثال عن الممارسات الجيدة وحوالي 4000 طلب للمساعدة التقنية في 108 دولة.

ويعتبر إنشاء هذه العملية الحكومية الدولية الفعّالة وتشغيلها بنجاح من الإنجازات الهامة التي تدلّ على التزام الدول بمنع الفساد ومكافحته. وتعتبر تقارير الاستعراض التي تقدمها كل دولة معيارًا يقاس على أساسه التقدم المحرز.

في هذا الإطار، قال المدير التنفيذي لمكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة (UNODC) يوري فيدوتوف إنه "بفضل اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد، أصبح لدى كل بلد في العالم تقريباً قوانين معمول بها تجعل من الفساد جريمة".

 

عملية الاستعراض

بموجب آلية استعراض التنفيذ، تتم مراجعة دولة ما من قبل دولة طرف أخرى من نفس المنطقة ودولة طرف ثانية من منطقة أخرى في العالم، وكلتاهما مختارتان بالقرعة. وقد سنحت هذه الطريقة المجال أمام تبادل عالمي للأفكار، وتوفير فرص تبادل المعرفة للدول الأطراف في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تهدف عملية الاستعراض الى مساعدة دول الأطراف في جهودها الوطنية لمكافحة الفساد وفي تنفيذ أحكام الاتفاقية. يتضمن المنتج النهائي لكل مراجعة عادة الاستنتاجات والتوصيات والممارسات الجيدة التي حددها خبراء المراجعة والتي تمت مناقشتها والاتفاق عليها مع الدولة الطرف قيد الاستعراض.

وقد ساهمت الآلية في نزع الحساسية حول الفساد عبر استخدام المنهجية نفسها عند استعراض جميع الدول الأطراف، وإخضاعها للمعايير التي حددتها الاتفاقية، مع عدم خلق أي ترتيب ذي طبيعة نوعية أو كمية.

تعتبر العملية شاملة وموضوعية وغير متحيزة، وكذلك غير تدخلية وغير عدائية. كما وتتطلب منهجية إيجابية تهدف إلى إبراز الممارسات الجيدة وتحديد المجالات التي يجب تحسينها والوصول إلى اتفاق بتوافق الآراء.

ابتداءاً من عام 2019، شاركت 97 في المائة من الدول الأطراف في أكثر من زيارة رسمية أو اجتماع مشترك. وقد لاحظ أكثر من ثلثي الدول أن استعراض النظراء كان له تأثير إيجابي حيث أن 90 في المائة من الدول عدّلت تشريعاتها نتيجة لذلك.

 

الدورتان الأولى والثانية للاستعراضات

غطت دورة الاستعراض الأولى (2010-2015) الفصول المتعلقة بالتجريم وإنفاذ القانون والتعاون الدولي المذكورة في الاتفاقية. وقد بدأت الدورة الثانية من الاستعراضات في عام 2015 وتغطي فصول التدابير الوقائية واسترداد الأصول.

 

بناء القدرات

خلال عام 2018، قام مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة (UNODC) بتدريب 1600 شخص على منع قضايا الفساد وكشفها والتحقيق فيها وملاحقة المتّهمين بها والفصل في النزاعات الناتجة عنها؛ كما تمّ تدريب 600 آخرين على كيفيّة القيام بعملية الاستعراض في هذا المجال واستحداث 50 نصّ قانوني وسياسي. قام المكتب أيضاً بمساعدة 140 دولة في مجال الصياغة التشريعية والملاحقة القضائية للجريمة المالية وإنشاء وكالات لمكافحة الفساد وأنظمة الإعلان عن الموجودات بالإضافة إلى تطوير دورات تدريبية لضباط الشرطة تدور حول أخلاقيات المهنة.

بالإضافة إلى ما سيق أعلاه، عمل مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة على تطوير أدوات تهدف إلى تعزيز نزاهة القطاع الخاص ونشر دليل عملي لإدارة الأعمال يقدّم المشورة لإعداد برامج تدور حول التقيّد بأخلاقيات المهنة ومكافحة الفساد. كما تمّ إنتاج أداة تعليميّة عن بعد "لمحاربة الفساد" بالتعاون مع الاتفاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة.

يدعم المكتب أيضاً عدداً من البلدان من خلال شبكته المؤلّفة من مستشارين إقليميين يساعدون في عمليّات تطوير استراتيجيات وطنية لمكافحة الفساد. كما يقود المكتب المبادرة الأكاديمية لمكافحة الفساد، وهو مشروع تعاوني يسعى إلى تشجيع مؤسسات التعليم العالي على إرساء مفاهيم مكافحة الفساد والقيام ببحوث في هذا المجال. إنّ مبادرة التعليم من أجل العدالة تقوم، من جهّـتها، بدعم المدارس، الجامعات ومؤسساتٍ أخرى لتعميم مفهوم سيادة القانون، بما في ذلك مكافحة الفساد والنزاهة والأخلاق.

 

نتائج الاستعراض

اتّخذت دول عديدة تدابير مختلفة لتعزيز إطار مكافحة الفساد بعد الملاحظات التي أعطيت أثناء عملية الاستعراض. وتشمل هذه الخطوات إنشاء سلطات جديدة ومستقلة لمكافحة الفساد، ومشاركة القطاع الخاص بشكلٍ فعّال وتنظيم حوار مفتوح مع المجتمع المدني أو توقيع معاهدات جديدة حول المساعدة القانونية المتبادلة.

فقد أدخلت دول عديدة إلى منظومتها التشريعيّة تعديلات تختصّ بالجرائم الجنائية بحيث بدأت تجرّم المتاجرة بالنفوذ، وتبييض الأموال، والإثراء غير المشروع وعرقلة مسار العدالة.

لفتت عدّة دول إلى أن تجربتها في الاستعراض والعمل كخبراء استعراض لدى دول أخرى، قد سمحت لها باكتساب نظرة ثاقبة والاستفادة من الممارسات الجيّدة التي اعتمدتها تلك الدول.

إنّ المعلومات التي تّم جمعها ساعدت أيضًا في تقييم وتقدير التقدّم المحرز في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة ذات الصلة، وكذلك في إنشاء أنظمة فعّالة لمكافحة الفساد.

كما أدّت آلية الاستعراض إلى إنشاء منصّات إقليميّة لتقديم المساعدة التقنيّة من خلال الاستفادة من التحديات المشتركة بين الدول المجاورة. تمّ إنشاء لغاية الآن، أربع منصّات إقليميّة في ثلاث قارّات: جنوب شرق آسيا وشرق إفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية والمكسيك وجنوب إفريقيا.

إنّ آليّة المراجعة وعمل فريق استعراض تنفيذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد قد أثّرا إيجابيّاً في تحويل المشهد العالمي في مكافحة الفساد. لقد حثّوا الدول للتوقيع على الاتفاقية أو الانضمام إليها وتنفيذها على الصعيد الوطني.

Real change generated by the Implementation Review Mechanism for the anti-corruption Convention

 

ABU DHABI, 19 December (UN Information Service) - After nearly 10 years of operation, the Implementation Review Mechanism of the United Nations Convention against Corruption has compiled a global, comprehensive gap analysis of what challenges countries and regions face. The reviews provide a technical, non-adversarial and non-politicized entry point for discussions with States and have demonstrated their positive impact in driving forward the process of implementation of the Convention.

An element of its success is the willingness of States to share their experiences and learn from each other. Since its beginning in 2010, there have been 198 executive summaries finalized and 237 country visits or joint meetings undertaken.

Almost 7,000 challenges along with over 1,000 good practices and almost 4,000 technical assistance needs in 108 countries have been identified during the review process.

It was a significant achievement to establish and successfully operate this effective intergovernmental process, demonstrating the commitment of States to prevent and combat corruption. The country review reports have become a benchmark against which progress can be measured.

“Thanks to the United Nations Convention against Corruption nearly every country in the world now has laws in place making corruption a crime,” said the Executive Director of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), Yury Fedotov.

 

Review process

Under the Implementation Review Mechanism, a State is reviewed by one State party from the same region and another State party from anywhere in the world, both drawn by lot. This has enabled a global exchange of ideas, providing knowledge-sharing opportunities for States parties around the world.

The objective is to assist States parties in their national anti-corruption efforts and in implementing the provisions of the Convention. The final product of each review usually includes conclusions, recommendations and good practices identified by the reviewing experts that are discussed and agreed upon with the State party under review.

The Mechanism has contributed to the desensitization of corruption by reviewing all States parties using the same methodology and holding them to the same standards set by the Convention, while not producing any ranking of either a qualitative or quantitative nature.

The process is inclusive, impartial and objective, as well as non-intrusive and non-adversarial. It takes a positive approach designed to bring out good practices and identify areas to improve and agreement is reached by consensus.

As of 2019, 97 per cent of States parties have participated in one or more country visits or joint meetings. More than two thirds of States noted that the peer review had had an overall positive impact and 90 per cent of States changed their legislation as a result.

 

First and second cycle of reviews

The first review cycle (2010-2015) covered the chapters of the Convention on criminalization and law enforcement, and on international cooperation. The second cycle of reviews started in 2015 and covers the chapters on preventive measures and asset recovery.

 

Building capacity

In 2018 alone, UNODC trained 1,600 people in preventing, detecting, investigating, prosecuting and adjudicating corruption cases; 600 others in the review process; supported the development of 50 laws and policies; assisted 140 States in areas such as legislative drafting, financial crime prosecution, setting up anti-corruption agencies and asset declaration systems as well as developing ethics trainings for police officers.

UNODC has also developed tools to strengthen private sector integrity and published a ‘Practical Guide for Business’ with advice for setting up anti-corruption ethics and compliance programmes. An e-learning tool ‘The fight against corruption’ has been produced in partnership with United Nations Global Compact.

UNODC also supports countries through its network of regional anti-corruption advisers who help develop national anti-corruption strategies. UNODC leads the Anti-Corruption Academic Initiative, a collaborative project that seeks to encourage the teaching and research of anti-corruption by higher-level education institutions. The Education for Justice initiative supports schools, universities and other institutions to teach about the rule of law, including anti-corruption, integrity and ethics.

 

Outcomes of the reviews

Many States have taken various measures to strengthen their anti-corruption framework following observations made during the review process. Such steps include the creation of new and independent anti-corruption authorities, active engagement of the private sector, an open dialogue with civil society or the signing of new mutual legal assistance treaties.

Numerous States have introduced new criminal offences or legislative amendments such as the criminalization of trading in influence, money-laundering, illicit enrichment and obstruction of justice.

Several States highlighted how their experience of being reviewed and acting as reviewers of other States had helped them gain insight into the good practices adopted by other States.

Information gathered may also help assess progress on implementing the relevant Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) as well as for establishing effective anti-corruption regimes.

The review mechanism has also led to regional platforms being set up to address technical assistance needs by building on common challenges amongst neighbouring States. So far, four have been set up on three continents: Southeast Asia, East Africa, South America and Mexico, and Southern Africa.

The review mechanism and the work of the Implementation Review Group have had a positive effect on transforming the global landscape in the fight against corruption. They have created a renewed momentum for States to ratify or accede to the Convention and furthered national implementation of the Convention.